Posted by: HighAltitude | February 23, 2010

Untold Story of BDM102 ’09

After I severely vomiting on the 63km around 9am I could no longer eat any solid food. Even for a small amount of food would triggered vomiting. From that moment, gatorade, water and candy became my primary sources of energy to kept me going to finish the race at 3.30+pm.

In one point, somewhere in between km80-km90, I don’t have candy anymore and my vehicle support was far in front of me and my running buddy, Ellen Tolentino. We’ve been running together for more than 80k.

I badly need candy to keep me going!

I need glucose!

I asked Ellen if she still have extra candy but she don’t have it anymore. But I noticed she has candy in her mouth.

I begged her to give it to me.

She was freakin’ shock when I said that…

But she knew what I’ve been through. She saw the episode of vomiting I’ve got. She knew I couldn’t eat solid anymore…

My plea was eventually granted after quite sometimes convincing her that I badly need it and I don’t care if I have to eat her left over taken directly from her mouth.

She took the candy out from her mouth, bite it half and give it to me…

That was enough to give me energy to keep running till we met our vehicle support. Thank you so much, Ellen. Unforgettable and precious moment in Bataan102 ’09.

Talking about camaraderie in ultra running…

Responses

  1. no wonder, ellen is always looking for you. you are mabagal pare.

  2. LOL Jerry nice one! 😀 Panalo! Mabagal ba Boss Jonel? Hehehe 🙂

  3. That’s an interesting story! That’s what I so love about ultra-running, that unique level of camaraderie.

    I guess candies should be added to our list! Thank you for that info. 🙂

  4. note to self: must have candies when running an ultra with women. 😛

  5. @bugobugo+GBR: hahaha talaga?

    @dhenztm: if you could have ginger candy, that would be great!

    @ronaldrei: hahaha

  6. I’m finding out a lot about this ultrarun and it seems to be one ultra I would love to run someday. Good job to all that race that ultra!


Leave a Reply

Categories

